COVID-19 (coronavirus)

   For information and updates regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, please visit

City Newsroom

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Ratifies New Collective Agreements with Medicine Hat Police Association and Medicine Hat Police Senior Officers Association

Post Date:04/15/2019 7:51 PM

Medicine Hat – The City of Medicine Hat has ratified new collective agreements with both the Medicine Hat Police Association, and the Medicine Hat Police Senior Officers Association.

The previous agreements expired on December 31, 2016. The new agreements are for a four-year term from January 1, 2017 until December 31, 2020.

General wage increases include 0% effective January 1, 2017; 2% effective January 1, 2018; 2.5% effective December 31, 2018; 2% effective December 31, 2019; and 1.5% effective July 1, 2020.

The City and the Medicine Hat Police Association were scheduled to proceed to interest arbitration later this year pursuant to Part 3 of Alberta’s Police Officers Collective Bargaining Act to have an interest arbitration board establish a collective agreement covering the period of January 1, 2017 until December 31, 2018.

“We are pleased that through a cooperative effort, we were able to come to an agreement without an arbitration process,” said City of Medicine Hat CAO, Robert Nicolay. “A solid relationship between the City and the Medicine Hat Police Service is integral to the safety and well-being of our community, and this process demonstrates each party’s commitment to working together.”

According to the matters that would be considered by an arbitration board as outlined in Section 15 of the Police Officers Collective Bargaining Act, the agreements reached are, in the City’s view, “…fair and reasonable to the police officers and the municipality and are in the best interests of the public…” and eliminate the need for interest arbitration.


-  30 -


For further information, please contact:


Colleen Graham
Corporate Communications Manager
City of Medicine Hat

Return to full list >>