Mayor's Office

Mayor Linnsie Clark

Mayor Linnsie Clark

Linnsie Clark was elected by municipal election on October 18, 2021, and sworn in as Mayor on November 1, 2021.

If you wish to contact the Mayor's office, please email or call 403-529-8181.

Mayor Requests

In addition to requesting a meeting, you can ask the Mayor for a congratulatory certificate, a birthday, anniversary or welcome message, a proclamation or a letter of recognition.


Congratulatory certificates and letter

The Mayor is pleased to send a Certificate of Congratulations to residents of Medicine Hat celebrating the following:

  • Birthdays - Individuals celebrating their 65th birthday or up, in five-year increments
  • Anniversaries - Those celebrating a 50th anniversary or up, in five-year increments
  • Retirement - Individuals retiring from Canadian Armed Forces or Defence Research and Development Canada

Submit your request three (3) weeks in advance.

The certificate can either be mailed or picked up; you will be asked to select a delivery method on the application.

If you wish the Mayor’s attendance at this event, please complete the Request a Meeting form, as well.

Apply for a congratulatory certificate

Request a meeting with the Mayor 

A meeting with the Mayor is dependent on availability, meeting objective and time sensitivity. The Mayor’s staff will ensure your request is taken into consideration and responded to in a prompt manner. 

Request a meeting with the Mayor

Request a proclamation 

Proclamations are ceremonial documents issued and signed by the Mayor to recognize the value and importance of an event, campaign or organization for a certain day, week or month.  Requests must be submitted a minimum of three (3) weeks before the event.

Proclamations may be issued for:

  • Events or organizations with a direct relationship to the City of Medicine Hat
  • Public awareness campaigns 
  • Charitable fundraising campaigns 
  • Arts and cultural celebrations 

Proclamations will not be issued for:

  • Matters of political controversy, ideological or religious beliefs or individual conviction 
  • Campaigns or events contrary to City policies or bylaws 
  • Campaigns intended for profit-making purposes 

Please Note:

  • As per protocol, the proclamation must be created by the organization on the organization's letterhead in completed form. Proclamations will not be provided on the City of Medicine Hat letterhead/stationery.
  • Proclamations will not be read at Open Council Meetings or posted on the City of Medicine Hat website
  • Proclamations are issued at the discretion of the City of Medicine Hat
  • An organization does not have exclusive rights to the day, week or month of their Proclamation
  • Proclamations are issued on a first come, first served basis
  • The Mayor's Office will not arrange media to attend the signing, but welcomes them if the organization should arrange. Please indicate in advance if the media will attend.
  • Participants are responsible for their own photography

If you wish the Mayor to attend a proclamation signing at a location other than in the Mayor’s Office, please complete the Request a Meeting form.

Request a proclamation

Request to address City Council

Pursuant to section 16.4 of the Procedure Bylaw #2270, any individual, delegation or special interest group requesting to make a presentation at a Council meeting shall complete and submit an application form to the City Clerk. The City Clerk, in consultation with the mayor, will determine when such applications will be referred to Council or a standing committee for consideration.

Apply to address City Council here

Former Mayors

Ted Clugston


Norm Boucher


Garth Vallely


Former Mayors 1899-1980

Milt J. Reinhardt, 1977-1980

Ted J. Grimm, 1974-1977, 1980-2001

Chuck J. Meagher, 1966-1968

Harry Veiner, 1968-1974

Wilson Riley, 1950-1952

W. M. Rae, 1947-1949

Hector Lang, 1939-1947, 1949-1950

I. Bullivant, 1926-1939

Walter Huckvale, 1921-1926

S. Cruikshank, 1917-1918

M. A. Brown, 1914-1915, 1918-1921

Nelson Spencer, 1912-1914

D. Milne, 1909-1912

W. Cousins, 1907-1909

F. G. Forster, 1905-1907

T. Hutchinson, 1904-1905

A. C. Hawthorne, 1903-1904, 1915-1917

W. T. Finlay, 1900-1903

W.B. Marshall, 1899-1900