Due to current improvements being made to the City’s website, users may experience brief service interruptions, periods of limited functionality, and incorrect results within the search function until the engine fully updates. Some users may need to clear their cache to access new content. We apologize for any inconvenience.

City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
City Council consists of a Mayor and eight Councillors, elected for a term of four years. The position of Mayor and Councillors are at-large elections, meaning that each person elected represents the City as a whole and not a particular ward or section of the City.

The Municipal Government Act sets out the powers of municipal governments. The Mayor is the Chief Elected Official of the municipality and has duties as both Councillor and Mayor. The Chief Administrative Officer of the City is in charge of day-to-day City operations and employees.

Our Vision

To be a "community of choice."

Our Mission

To deliver value through exceptional public service

Our Values
We are committed to the following core values, which we believe enable us to achieve our vision:
  • Innovation, creativity and diversity
  • Openness, debate and participation
  • Performance results
  • Being proactive
  • Balanced and responsible development
  • A long-term perspective
  • Well-being of residents and employees
  • Principle of self-determination for our community
  • Continuous learning and staff development

May 2017

May 2017

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3