Due to current improvements being made to the City’s website, users may experience brief service interruptions, periods of limited functionality, and incorrect results within the search function until the engine fully updates. Some users may need to clear their cache to access new content. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Former Medicine Hat Mayors

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The following table provides a detailed list of all the former Mayor's of Medicine Hat. 

Name Dates Years in Office
W. B. Marshall 1899-1900 One
W. T. Finlay 1900-1903 Three
*A. C. Hawthorne 1903-1904 Three in total
T. Hutchinson 1904-1905 One
F. G. Forster 1905-1907 Two
W. Cousins 1907-1909 Two
D. Milne 1909-1912 Three
Nelson Spencer 1912-1914 Two
*M. A. Brown 1914-1915 Four in total
*A. C. Hawthorne 1915-1917 Three in total
S. Cruikshank 1917-1918 One
*M. A. Brown 1918-1921 Four in total
Walter Huckvale 1921-1926 Five
I. Bullivant 1926-1939 Thirteen
*Hector Lang 1939-1947 Nine in total
W. M. Rae 1947-1949 Two
*Hector Lang 1949-1950 Nine in total
Wilson Riley 1950-1952 Two
*Harry Veiner 1952-1966 Twenty in total
Chuck J. Meagher 1966-1968 Two
*Harry Veiner 1968-1974 Twenty in total
*Ted J. Grimm 1974-1977 Twenty four in total
Milt J. Reinhardt 1977-1980 Three
*Ted J. Grimm 1980-2001 Twenty four in total
Garth Vallely 2001-2007 Six
Norm Boucher 2007-2013 Six
Ted Clugston 2013-present  

* Indicates the Mayor served nonconsecutive terms.